“Compromise always brings consequences.”
A great quote from our Pastor on Wednesday night. We are going verse by verse through the Old Testament and it is a theme that is seen over and over again in the Bible.
And in life.
And compromise always starts with one tiny decision.
I’ll just text that guy from work really quick about something funny that happened…that lady at the office seems smart, I’ll talk to her about the problems I’m having with my wife…I used to be an alcoholic, I’ll just have one drink, it won’t hurt…I’ll just skip Sunday service today, I hardly ever do that…I’ll just stretch the truth a little on that report for work, what’s the harm in that?
You get my point.
Everything we do in life – good & bad – starts with a thought.
And every major disaster and mess we make in our lives starts with a baby step.
It doesn’t seem like a big deal to “fib” a little, until you have to tell another one to keep the story going and then another and another.
It seems harmless to form a “friendship” with someone of the opposite sex that you aren’t married to, until they seem so understanding and fun and wise and they begin to replace your spouse a little at a time and suddenly you’ve crossed the line emotionally…and it’s so easy to just keep crossing more lines until you’re in the middle of an affair that rips families apart and breaks hearts.
What’s the big deal if I skip church today? Then it’s easier to skip next service and be lazy and meet up with some friends instead. And then the next week. And then I feel guilty, so I don’t answer calls and texts and messages from my church friends and I turn to my other friends instead…and suddenly I’m disconnected from my accountability and my relationship with God and He becomes a distant thought.
The unfortunate truth is that usually the consequences radically affect those in your life – sometimes even more than they affect you. Your bad decisions change the reality of other peoples’ lives.  
The ripple effect: One pebble disturbs a lake that is calm.
One compromise leads to another and another.
One compromise disturbs an entire life, and another life, and another life and another.
Consequences.  
Loss. Hardships. Sadness. Defeat. Depression. Self-Depreciation. Broken Hearts. Broken Relationships. Broken Lives.
My prayer since Wednesday has been, “Lord, let me live a life that is truthful and pleasing to you. Help me to be strong and not compromise in ANY areas of my life. Let me care about what YOU think and the lives of those I love more than my own selfish desires.”
May you go through your weekend and keep this whole idea in the forefront of your thoughts.
“that you may become blameless and harmless, children of God without fault in the midst of a crooked and perverse generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world,”

‭‭Philippians‬ ‭2:15‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

