I’m far from perfect.
I don’t have it all together.
Some days I’m one annoying situation away from unraveling.
I care a lot about clothes and shoes.
I don’t like leaving the house without makeup.
I say hell and damn-and I know some people think it’s wrong.
I yell at my kids for stupid things.
I lose patience with my husband.
Sometimes I get stressed out way too easily.
I say mean things to and about people.
I judge too quickly.
I sometimes go extended periods of time without spending quality time with Jesus.
I like movies that I shouldn’t.
I watch shows that are nothing but a guilty pleasure.
I waste time doing stupid things that I should be spending on things of value.
I listen to and really, really like Katy Perry.
There was a time in my life I wouldn’t have admitted any of those things. I would admit to not being perfect-that’s easy-no one is! But I never would have admitted actual faults, or things other people conceive to be faults, to the internet world for anyone to read.
I cared way, way, way too much what other people thought of me.
I didn’t want people to judge me.  
I didn’t want to be lectured.  
Know this: I’m not saying that everything on that list is OK.
There are things I’m woking on for sure.
And there are things that just don’t bother me and I’ll keep doing them unless I feel like I’m being unpleasing to Jesus.
I love Him with all of my heart.
I want to make Him happy with how I live my life.
I want to show others the freedom I’ve found in Christ.
I want to be real.
I want people to see that none of us have it all together and we are all a work in progress.
So I will continue to admit my short-comings, I will bravely tell anyone that asks the things I’m working on changing in my life.
I will also tell them there are things in their life they are turning themselves inside out trying to change, beating themselves up, constantly feeling defeated…and Jesus isn’t the one who cares…it’s other people.
There is a huge difference from being convicted about an area in your life and realizing The Lord is trying to change something in you…and someone from the outside looking in, making up their own rules and trying to force a change in you.
Sometimes Jesus WILL use other people to open our eyes to areas in our lives that are lacking, but every single time that has come up in my life, it’s something I’ve been aware of, something I already feel is unpleasing to The Lord. When the other person tells me, it’s a confirmation…not a new revelation.  
But for today, relax.  
Shut out all the noise that comes from other people.
Ask The Lord to open your heart to him and reveal areas within you that need work. Seek counsel from a fellow Christ follower on steps you can take to become better. Dig in to the Bible and see what God has to say about your situation. The Bible is alive and well and has help inside any time we need it. And thanks to Google, we can type in key phrases and scriptures will pop up to help us begin that journey.
Stop worrying so much what other people think about you and worry about what Jesus thinks about you. There is so much freedom in that.
You will never please everyone, so please the ONLY one.
Sometimes, I do start to care again what other people think. My stomach starts twisting in knots, I get nervous and edgy…then this truth comes alive to me again:
But God demonstrates His own love towards us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Romans 5:8
He loved us IN OUR SIN and died for us. He thought we were worth His life, and He still does. He will love us through our sin.
It’s not an excuse to do whatever we want and then beg repentance, however. We are called to constantly be striving towards righteousness:
You were taught with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by it’s evil desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness. Ephesians 4:22
It’s a process and Jesus is walking us through it one issue at a time.
Just rest in that tonight. 

