I’ve been thinking about trust a lot this past week.

Trust is the essential in every relationship. 

It is the cornerstone of our relationship with God.

I serve and believe in a God that I’ve never seen.  I’ve seen the things that He does for me, but I’ve never seen Him.

I’ve felt His presence, but I’ve never seen Him.

I’ve seen miracles performed in His name, but I’ve never seen Him.

But I know with everything in me, that God is real.  I just know it. 

I know that He loves me, that He protects me, that He guides me, that He faithfully provides for me.

The bottom line is that I trust in Him.

I made the unfortunate mistake of posting The Fire Part I, Part II and Part III before Marcos and I had even had a chance to tell our kids everything that God had done for us.  To our knowledge, they had no idea what was going on, so we would have to tell them the whole story in order for them to understand just how gracious God has been to us.

One morning I woke up and I had a comment on my blog from Julianna W and quickly realized that our oldest daughter had been on there and read the entire story online. 

Whoops! 

I forget how tech savvy kids are nowadays!!!!

And then Marcos had a chance to tell our oldest son everything that had happened and both of them had the same reaction.  

They were absolutely shocked.

They were just carrying on with life blissfully unaware of the turmoil in our own home.

Awesome?

YES!!!

However, we want them to know – now that we are on the other side – exactly what was happening so they see for themselves God’s goodness and provision in our lives.

The other night Marcos and I were talking about his conversation with Devante and how happy we were that we had gone through this huge trial and even our kids didn’t pick up on anything that was happening.

And I’m not going to lie, we were a little bit proud of ourselves, too.

OK, that was still a lie.

We were RIDICULOUSLY proud of ourselves!!

I mean, who wouldn’t be?  Facing one of the greatest heartaches of our lives and we were able to keep the peace in our home and not take it out on our kids or each other.

That my friends, is what you call a miracle in any home! 

Stress can be quite unkind to relationships.  It takes hard work and the grace of God to not take everything out on each other…but that is a whole different blog that’s on my list to write…I bet you can’t wait J

As we continued to drive along, Marcos said something that hit me like a ton of bricks and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it since.  Now, mind you, my mind is like the opposite of a steel trap, so this is not a direct quote, this is a Stacie Paraphrase.

“You know what’s more awesome than the fact that the tension didn’t get to them?  The fact that they are kids and they didn’t have a care in the world.  They weren’t worried about where we were going to live or where their next meal was coming from or how they were going to get the things they need.  They had complete trust in us as their parents to just provide those things for them.  They have confidence that when they need or even want something, they can just tell us and we can make it happen.  They have no concept of not having their needs met.  And that’s how we should be with God.  He knows our needs, we tell Him, He sees them and we should be able to be confident that he’ll provide for us.”

Simple?  

Yes.

Profound?

Completely.

It brought tears to my eyes, just the simple truth in that statement.

As much as I love my kids and I don’t want to see anything bad happen to them or for them to go without, God loves me a million times more and for sure He doesn’t want to see us hurting.

We really and truly should have that child-like faith in a loving God who is above all else, our heavenly Father.

We should know that He will always take care of us, no matter what.  Sometimes not in the way we think, but always in the way that is best for us.

I think the reason so many of us forget just how much of a Father He is, is because we stop spending time with Him and getting to know Him, and really, that’s all He wants from us.  The more we know Him, the more we will understand His love and be able to trust Him with all things.

He is a good Father.

A loving Father.

A Father that sees and knows our every need, we just have to trust in Him completely.

Let go of the fear and live in the peace of trusting your Father.

Isaiah 41:13

For I am the Lord your God
    who takes hold of your right hand
and says to you, Do not fear;
    I will help you.

Sometimes I just need to sit quietly in the presence of God and soak up His love so I remember to trust Him…click here to listen to my favorite “remember God’s love” song!

