There have been so many things going on lately that I’ve wanted to blog about and in the midst of all of it, I got into an argument with Comcast and canceled our Wi-Fi.  Then we had to wait FOREVER for ATT to come out and hook everything up…

And wouldn’t you know, the day it was up and running, the hard drive on my laptop died…for the second time…crazy.

This is what’s been going on in my mind.

Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego.

For the past 3-4 months, this story has been on my mind daily

And for the past few months, it’s been talked about different places I have been.

I love it when that happens.

I love that story.  If you aren’t familiar, look up Daniel 1-3…or I will give you a very quick paraphrase…

So, the King got himself a big giant head and decided that he would build a giant idol that everyone had to bow down to…Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego did not bow down…the King’s men told on them…they were thrown into the fiery furnace that was so hot, it killed the guards that had to throw them in…when they checked the fire, there were not 3, but 4 men inside walking around…they pulled them out of the fire and they were safe and everyone worshiped God…

Good?

This has been my life as of late…and this will be a 2 or 3 part blog because so much has happened…but here is the first part of our story…

Talk about being in the fire.  It’s been hard.  It’s been messy.  It’s been unsure.  It’s been a storm.  It’s been scary.  It’s been almost overwhelming…but only almost.

But above all, it’s been amazing.

I kept reading this story for strength and encouragement.  I have 2 favorite parts.

  1. The King warns the boys to bow down or he will surely kill them and they, completely confident in their God, tell him,

“Your threat means nothing to us. If you throw us in the fire, the God we serve can rescue us from your roaring furnace and anything else you might cook up, O king. But even if he doesn’t, it wouldn’t make a bit of difference. We still wouldn’t serve your gods or worship the gold statue you set up.”

  1. When they are pulled from the fiery furnace it says,

All the important people, the government leaders and king’s counselors, gathered around to examine them and discovered that the fire hadn’t so much as touched the three men—not a hair singed, not a scorch mark on their clothes, not even the smell of fire on them!

I love that they were so confident in God to save their physical lives, but I love the last line the best…EVEN IF HE DOESN’T…

See, sometimes in life, things don’t happen the way we want them to. 

We see a way for God to come in and save the day and we get a bit testy with Him when He doesn’t follow our directions. 

Because, we all know that we know better than the creator of the universe, right?  I mean, I graduated from High School, surely I know more than that guy…

I love the faith they had in God, that even if they did die and weren’t saved, they would still love God with everything in them and know that they would see Him face to face a bit sooner than planned, but even if things looked bad, it was really all good.

Life has been like that lately. 

I was claiming that everything would turn out exactly the way it was supposed to and that even if it looked bad in my eyes, I would trust that God had a plan.  I knew the way I wanted things to work out, but finally came to that place of surrender and said, “But even if it doesn’t turn out the way I want, I will love you and you will still be God!”

God is still God when prayers seem to be unanswered.

He is still God when everything looks like it’s falling apart.

He is still God when there seems no way to fix anything.

He is still God when I have nothing left in me to fight with and give up.

The one thing Marcos and I kept saying…

God WILL be glorified in this situation. 

We chose not to walk around with the attitude of “woe is me.” 

We had full confidence in our God.

We wanted the testimony that Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego had…the second thing that I love…that when this trial was over, we would not be singed, burned or even SMELL of smoke…no one would be able to tell the trial that we went through, they would just know that God came through in a miraculous way…

And He did…

We were literally on the edge.  We were facing losing everything, and we prayed a very heartfelt prayer…

“God, have your way.  We humble ourselves to this process and we trust that you know what you’re doing and no matter what, we will love you and serve you and tell the world what great things you have done in our life!”

We chose not to bow to the things that would have been easy. 

We chose not to give in to what the world was telling us to do…you know…the way things that make human sense…

Not to say that we didn’t have moments of sheer terror and doubt, but underneath it all, there was peace.

He sent his angel and rescued his servants who trusted in him! They ignored the king’s orders and laid their bodies on the line rather than serve or worship any god but their own and they were blessed.

Daniel 3:28

Above all else I trust God when the storm rages, because He is always good and His love is enough. 

Click here for the song that got me through many days!

Until tomorrow…

