My dad just called me to let me know that my great-grandma passed away a few minutes ago.

It’s strange to think that a few minutes ago I was making a cup of coffee and talking to people in my office, sending an email and trying to decide what needed to be done today and my great grandma was taking her last breath. 

All of a sudden, that email didn’t seem so important and I lost my taste for the coffee. (I know, right?  I never thought I’d see the day.) I guess it doesn’t matter how much you prepare yourself, or know that it’s going to happen any day, it still takes your breath away and brings a sadness that you just can’t prepare for.

I know Gramma didn’t want us to be sad, because she told us so.  To that I say,

“Whatever, silly gramma!”

I am sad.  I am going to miss her.  She is a part of who I am.  I am like her in so many ways and love so many of the same things as her.  But, I also know that I will be OK, we will all be OK and move on because we have no choice; life does in fact go on.

I will miss:

Playing Scrabble with her.

Shopping with her. (She had the BEST taste in clothes and jewelry)

Talking with her around the dining room table and eating dessert. (Pretty sure I got my sweet tooth from her.)

Drinking Jitter Bean White Mocha’s with her. (Coffee addiction 5 generations strong)

Seeing her in her old lady slippers.  (I bought a pair just like hers.)

Going with her and grandma to get her hair done. 

Hugging her.

Kissing her.

Holding her hand.

The strange thing is, she is no longer with us. 

Her heart beat for the last time. 

She took her last breath. 

She went peacefully into heaven. 

She will not wake up tomorrow, but I will. 

I’m still here. 

What will I do with my life to honor her and her memory?  If I live to be 91, what legacy will I leave behind?  Will I have lived my life to the fullest and take my last breath with no regrets?

